The Finance and Business Services (FBS) Division forms part of the Chief Operating Officer’s portfolio. We help secure the University’s financial future through expert advice, systems and support.

(07) 3346 6205

Level 3, JD Story Building (61), St Lucia campus

Finance Leadership Team

 

Mr Andrew Betts
Chief Financial Officer
Finance and Business Services
a.betts@uq.edu.au
(07) 3365 2391

 

Ms Karen Wheeler
Associate Director, Financial Operations
Financial Operations (Finance and Business Services)
k.wheeler@uq.edu.au
(07) 3346 7571

 

Mr Matthew Toomey
Associate Director, Acounting and Reporting
Corporate Finance
m.toomey1@uq.edu.au
(07) 3365 1148

 

Mr Riaan Retief
Associate Director, Financial Planning and Analysis
Financial Planning and Analysis
r.retief@uq.edu.au
(07) 3365 3497

 

Finance Managers for the Professional Services teams

 

Kellie Swan
Finance Manager
Business Economics and Law (BEL)
kellie.swan@uq.edu.au
(07) 3365 6662

 

Elma Spooner-Marurai
Finance Manager
Engineering, Architecture and Information Technology (EAIT)
e.spoonermarurai@uq.edu.au
(07) 3365 9062

 

Simon Thomas
Finance Manager
Health and Behavioural Sciences (HaBS)
s.thomas5@uq.edu.au
(07) 3346 3020

 

Narelle Ngo
Finance Manager
Humanities and Social Sciences (HaSS)
n.ngo@uq.edu.au
(07) 3365 6098

 

Phil Carter 
Finance Manager
Faculty of Medicine
p.carter@uq.edu.au 
(07) 3365 5033

 

Brenda Williams
Finance Manager
Faculty of Science
b.williams3@uq.edu.au
(07) 3346 9480

 

Gabriella Neufeld
Finance Manager
Institutes
g.neufeld@uq.edu.au
(07) 3346 7861

 

Toni Hammond
Finance Manager
Central Services
t.hammond1@uq.edu.au
(07) 3346 7705

Client Support Services

The Finance Client Support Services team manages the development and delivery of training resources for all finance functions including UniFi, the University’s financial system. Finance Client Support Services is also the first point of contact for all FBS-related queries.

Accounts Payable

The Accounts Payable section is responsible for:

  • payment of domestic and overseas creditor invoices
  • processing credit and adjustment notes
  • actioning returned and failed payments
  • processing reimbursement claims (other than salary payments)
  • maintaining supplier account details
  • administering corporate cards
  • advising staff on allowance entitlements
  • overseeing other payment processing, including refunds and Homestay payments
  • training and assisting unit finance officers.

Accounts Payable

(07) 3365 1001

Expense Management

(07) 3443 1394

Collections and Receivables

Collection and Receivables is responsible for collecting and correctly allocating all monies due to UQ. The functional areas are:

  • Student Receivables (sponsored students)
  • Cash Allocations (receipting and allocating funds)
  • Accounts Receivables (invoice dispatch, refunds, customer creation and maintenance)
  • Credit Management (credit control, bad debts).

Accounts Receivable

Cashier and Remittance Advice

Sponsor and Third Party Payment

Contract and Grants Accounting

Contract and Grants Accounting is responsible for: 

  • preparation of certified financial statements and acquittals for research projects and any non-research external contract and grant funding
  • billing and receipt of grant income
  • refunds of unexpended research grant and the transfer of research grant income to other institutions
  • Higher Education Research Data Collection (HERDC)
  • research infrastructure funding
  • corpus (investment) donation and bequest funding
  • ensuring financial reporting is accurate and compliant with grantor contractual requirements and accounting standards.

Corporate Finance

Corporate Finance provides oversight in the areas of:

  • financial accounting
  • statutory reporting
  • asset management
  • treasury
  • taxation compliance
  • group accounting
  • cash management.

Assets

Financial Accounting

Tax

Treasury

Financial Planning and Analysis

Financial Planning and Analysis (FPA) is responsible for:

  • reporting, budgeting and forecasting processes for the University
  • Asset Management Plan (AMP) and strategic funding/funding in arrears (FIA) support to the University financial community
  • maintaining the general ledger and chart of accounts.